BIRTH / A NEW BEGINNING

     Today is the first day of 2010. I can smell its freshness and vitality! It promises a year of bountiful harvest – success in every direction!
     Every new year reminds me of the three poems which I had written many years ago. They are in different perspective. I know you will like them!
 
BIRTH
Labour,
Due time;
Nine months gestattion,
Ready to be born!
Water-bag breaks to increase lubrication,
Contraction and relaxation of the womb;
Tiny head emerges first,
The rest follows;
Joy overwhelming,
Birth!
 
Here is a poem about the birth of a butterfly. I wrote this when I was in secondary school.
BUTTERFLY
Egg,
Life begins;
Worm-like crawling caterpillar,
Eating, growing and moulting;
By and by, it withdraws,
Encloses itself completely in silky cocoon;
In solitude it transforms itself,
In shape and form,
Adorn with wings;
Cocoon splits,
Butterfly!
 
What does the poem below tell you? Read between the lines!
THE WORLD BEYOND
Twenty-one days in semi-darkness I lay,
In this damp lonely world;
I could feel the two ends of the universe,
When I stretched out my tiny wings;
When I stood on my feet,
My head hit the heaven beam!
 
"Where’s the vast, bright and beautiful world,
Where animals freely fly and roam?
Where are the snow-capped mountains and green meadows,
Where gurgling springs and streams flow?"
 
"Ah, perhaps beyond this world of mine,
Is the perfect world I’ve been longing for!
Let me peck at the heaven’s beam
And discover what is in store!"
 
"Wow! This must be the heaven
I’ve been longing for!
"Let me live to explore!"
 
     Some people are filled with apprehension when they face new challenges. Be brave! Take each challenge by the horn and give your best shot. You will definitely succeed!
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EACH AND EVERYONE OUT THERE!
One thought on “BIRTH / A NEW BEGINNING

Leave a Reply

