LUSH AND GREEN…..

I just wonder if you have observed any dead tree or bush as you travel about in Singapore? I don’t think so. I dare to bet with you that you can’t find one. Even when you happen to find one, you will not be able to see it there a week later. Our country spends a lot of money to keep our country lush, clean and green! We have a first class environment, but sad to say how many people take the time to enjoy all the beautiful amenities provided free of charge! In our busyness to make ends meet just to provide more for the family, we are blinded to our environment! How sad!

I remembered I wrote the poem A COCONUT TREE STUMP (1) AND (2) a long time ago, and I posted it on my blog some years back. I think it was on WINDOWS LIVE then before I was transferred to WordPress.com. I went back to the place to visit the coconut stump to see how it was surviving. Strangely, I could not see the bare stump but instead I see creepers and ferns climbing up the stump. It has provided a new means for other plants to grow! What a beautiful feeling and sight. The dead stump has got another new lease of live. If the stump has feelings, I am sure that it is extremely happy to be of good use to the others!

Below, I re-post the poem THE COCONUT TREE STUMP (1) and (2) to share with those who have not read them.

COCONUT TREE STUMP (1)

Stump,
Coconut tree
Without its crown;
Defiantly alone it stands,
Against all the natural elements;
Succumb not to the forceful wind,
Lashes by the tormenting rain,
Severely slapped by lightning,
Still remain standing,
Scars revealing,
Motionless!

COCONUT TREE STUMP (2)

Am I not a stump at this stage of my life,
Single and alone I have to face,
The adversity of time is against me;
The journey I alone must take!
None can shield me from the icy wind,
Nor shade me from the scorching sun;
The lashes from lightning my frail body bears,
The scars of time my skin cannot repair;
Motionless, I stand being whipped by time,
Like the tree stump refusing to succumb;
The elements of nature can never bend,
The inner spirit of an enlightened man!
The stump is a witness and testimony,
To all who bravely journey,
Into the grinding wheels of time;
Loneliness, sickness and helplessness,
Is part and parcel at this stage of life;
Just beyond the horizon is life’s final station,
We shall be there in a twinkling of an eye!

When you see a solitary coconut tree stump,
Salute it respectfully with your right thumb!

2 thoughts on “LUSH AND GREEN…..

Leave a Reply

