GIVING SAVES LIVES!

When I was reading through my post, GIVING AND RECEIVING, the other day, forgotten old story came to my mind. Perhaps, some of my readers have read about it. Anyway, here it is…..

Long ago, there lived a very well-known miser whom everyone knew in his town. He is well-known for his taking away articles from people who owed him money and unable to repay the loan. He did not believe in giving away anything that belonged to him – not even to his wife and kids.

One day, he boarded a ship and intended to go for a relaxing holiday. While on the deck, he accidentally fell overboard. All the other passengers and crew members tried to save him from the shark infested ocean.

“Give us your hand!!” they shouted till their voices were hoarse. But the miser refused.
“No! No! I will not give you my hand!”
“The sharks are coming towards you. So quickly give us your hand!”
“No! No! I’ll never want to part with my hand! Just save meee…!” he cried.
“How can we save you if you don’t give us your hand?”
“Quickly think of another way, please,” he begged.

An old man who was shabbily dressed came forward. He told the miser, “Look at me, miser! Take my hand now!”

The miser looked at the shabbily dressed man and gladly stretched forth his hand to grab at the stranger’s hand. Thus, he was saved and everyone applauded and cheered!

Can you give a reason why the miser would not stretch forth his hand when he heard them say “Give…..” but would gladly stretch forth his hand when he heard “Take…”?

Leave a Reply

